Markham honours advisory committee volunteers

On Nov. 6, volunteers from 26 municipal advisory committees were recognized at a special council meeting at town hall. Collectively, they have helped guide Markham council in their decisions and determine how the city implements those decisions.

The reasons people volunteer for service on advisory boards are as varied as the people themselves. Some of the most common reasons include: a feeling they can help shape policy, fulfilling a civic duty, a desire to become involved and give something back to the community, a wish to donate their professional skill, or wanting to have an impact.

“We owe a great deal of gratitude to the many dedicated individuals who sit on Markham’s volunteer committees,” Mayor Frank Scarpitti told the crowd. “Tonight, we recognize their incredible contributions and we take pride in what we have been able to accomplish together.”

The honourees include: Accessibility Advisory Committee (Brendan Faulkner, Catherine Hughes, Joan Jenkyn); Achievement and Civic Recognition Committee (Sherry Hugh, Tammy Mok, Harvey Rogers, Kenneth Wade); Agricultural Advisory Committee (Ruth Brock, Ligia DeFilippis, Guy Farintosh, Bryant Hulshaf, Lynne Koss, Richard Reesor); Animal Care Committee (Julia Colangelo, Terri Daniels, Jennifer Ford, Nicole Hendricks, Furhait Kashmiri, Trudie Ross, Pamela Young); Box Grove Community Centre Board (Panchalingam (Punch) Kandiah, Andrew Moonilal, Sangeetha Thananyagam); Canada Day Committee (Munira Budheo, Farzath Hanifa, Mandy Ou); Cemetery Board (Marion Zeltins); Cycling and Pedestrian Advisory Committee (Joseph Cimer, Gordon Cole, Dan Gilligan, James Lin); Environmental Advisory Committee (Mavis Fung, Alexander Karlovski, Allan Lee, Chuan Li, Amol Rao); Flato Markham Theatre Advisory Board (Stephen Mathieu, Karyn Toon); Friends of the Markham Museum Board (Martha Mingay, Ardy Reid, Nicole Taylor); Heintzman House Community Centre Board (Louise MacNaughton, Bob Henderson, Paul Glionna, Patrick Chamandy); Heritage Markham Committee (Julie Chapman, Jenny Chau, Evan Gelman, Templar Tsang-Trinaistich); Historical Unionville Community Vision Committee (Templar Tsang-Trinaistich); Main Street Markham Committee (Jason Bebee, Helen Walter, Gordon Walters); Markham-Milliken Children’s Festival Committee (Munira Budheo, Gowthaman Rajakumar, Adrianna Scali); Mayor’s Youth Council (Joyce Chan, Vanessa Chan, Jessica Duncan, Jaemin Han, Justin Jen, Kaitlin Mak, Aman Mathur, Nicholas Vadivelu, Victor Wang, Leo Xu, Jeffrey Zhang); Public Art Advisory Committee (Kenny Yu); Public Library Board (Atif Ahmad, Claire Chester, Farzana Jiwani, Jeanette Lewis); Public Realm Advisory Committee (Shadi Aghaei, Omar Bhatti, Shichun Chen, Ivan Cheung, Mavis Fung, Chuan Li); Race Relations Committee (Moises Calo, Jacqueline Sang); Seniors Advisory Committee (Vincent Cheung, Faiz Mohyuddin, Balasunderam Ponniah, Assad (Kunigal) Shariff, Manickampillai Velauthapillai); Senior’s Hall of Fame Awards Committee (Mary Charbonneau, Jaswant Dhanjal, Angie Hever, Gail Leet, Tony Murphy); Unionville Business Improvement Area (Ryan McLachlan, Stacey Sniderman, Elisabeth Mensher, Parveen Jhinga, Simin Jahedi); Varley-McKay Art Foundation of Markham (Susan Gray, Paul Keeling, Ernestine Tahedl); Victoria Square Community Centre Board (Don Boynton).

Photo courtesy of the City of Markham.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share This