Country artists transform Flato Markham Theatre

On May 30, country stars Jason Blaine, The Road Hammers, Tebey and Tim Hicks will transform the Flato Markham Theatre into an epicenter for live country music.


The 4th annual presentation of the Country Music Association of Ontario (CMAO) Awards, presented by Slaight Music, will recognize artists across 14 different categories, while music fans will be treated to an incredible night of performances from some of Ontario’s top country talent and rising stars. Confirmed performers include: Autumn Hill, Cold Creek County, Genevieve Fisher, Jessica Mitchell, Leah Daniels,Meghan Patrick, River Town Saints, Runaway Angel and Tianna Woods. Returning host Jason McCoy will engage the audience solo and accompanied by his band mates The Road Hammers for a special live collaboration with Tim Hicks. The Western Swing Authority takes the reins as the show’s house band to keep the music flowing all night. More performers to be confirmed.


Tickets for the 2016 CMAO Awards are available for purchase now online at


The CMAO Awards are preceded by the third edition of the CMAO R2I (Road to Independence) Spring Tune Up Conference, featuring a two-day program of learning, networking and showcasing on Saturday, May 28 and Sunday, May 29, 2016, at the Edward Village Hotel (formerly the Delta Markham) in Markham. Programming will cover: artist management and development, talent booking, funding and grant programs, digital distribution and streaming, revenue sources and financial management, social and on-line tools, music partnerships and cross-promotions, and songwriting demonstrations and techniques.


Attendees of the conference will be treated to a behind-the-scenes look into an artist’s career and hear first-hand the stories that inspired some of today’s top hits. On Sunday night, an industry selection of Ontario’s emerging artists will take the stage at the New Faces Showcase.


Confirmed speakers for the CMAO R2I Spring Tune Up Conference include: Brian Hetherman (Music Ontario), Stefanie Purificati (United Talent Agency – UTA), Joel Baskin (The Feldman Agency), Paul Shaver (Open Road Recordings / RGK Entertainment), Keely Kemp (CultureCap), Jeff Hayward (FACTOR), Mark Watts (Ontario Media Development Corporation), Ashley Sperling (Cadence Music), Geoff Kulawick (Linus Entertainment), Georges Tremblay (Believe Digital), Kevin Goodman (FRC Marketing), Janis Nixon (RISE), Andres Mendoza (Cuto), Sam Arraj (CW Partners), Paul Sanderson (Sanderson Law), Jay Abraham (Jay Abraham Accounting), Chris Case (Dan Lawrie Insurance Brokers), Rona Birenbaum (Caring for Clients), Pete Walker (Durham Radio), Steve Wilkinson (The Wilkinsons), Brian Allen (AMPLUS Productions), Kyle Merkley (Arpix Media), Jason Blaine (Artist), Aaron Pritchett (Artist) and Doug Oliver (Cold Creek County).


Full details, including times, seminar topics and confirmed panelists for each R2I session will be announced on the CMAO website. Conference passes for the CMAO’s R2I Spring Tune Up Conference are available now. Joint tickets for the 2016 CMAO Awards and Conference are also available now and are priced at $125.00 each plus taxes and service charges. Two-day conference passes and combo passes are available for purchase on the CMAO website at










Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share This